“Are you in love?” and other social pitfalls of weightloss

I have lost weight. Not a considerable amount. Not even a dress-size. Just a bit of tightening up here and there to make the bikini season bearable and lessen the blow of next month’s quarter-century-crisis.

My confidence got a boost when people first started noticing; even if it was male friends highlighting that my boobs – never my greatest asset – had shrunk! But knowing that Little Pot (Everyone has a pet name for their tummy, right?) was shaping up and people were noticing definitely made the 7am gym-classes worthwhile.

THE PRICE OF LOOKING “BEE-OOOTIFOOL”

And then it all started to get a bit embarrassing. Currently in Geneva with work, I’m met with wonderfully French comments of “You look bee-oootifool, are you een looove?” which always make me want to get my teeny tiny feminist sword and shield out and wave them about. Then there’s those who wish me luck in “finding Prince Charming” – Both super-cute and super-patronising all at the same time, as if they don’t remember the life-cycle of a twenty-something female: Work-Gym-Binge Eat/Drink-Sleep and Repeat.

Although nothing makes my English sense of propriety (otherwise known as ‘Hugh Grant Syndrome’) flare up more than when met with the direct question “Have you lost weight?” I wish I could possess ‘Camera Natalie’s’ composure and respond with “Why yes, I have, thank you for noticing.” But invariably the brashness of the question – usually from Americans or family members – combined with the inherent inability to receive a compliment gracefully, often leaves me fumbling around red-faced, hair twiddling for a response.

AVOIDING THE ‘W’ WORD

This is usually where I get to the moral message of my diatribe. I am not, repeat not saying that you shouldn’t compliment someone if you happen to notice that they’ve trimmed up and are looking good for it. Everyone likes to be told they look nice. Just try to leave the ‘W’ word out. Similarly don’t assume that there’s an ‘other’ involved. My gym buddy – who was recently stopped in the street and quizzed over ‘his’ identity – pointed out to me that this is a mistake often made by men whose automatic thinking is that behind every healthy/happy woman there’s a man (“literally”). Your trainers may come as a pair, but there’s only room for 1 on the treadmill!

And for those on the other side of the coin: Eat what you want. Exercise if and when you want. Drink tequila and if it makes you feel good, keep bloody doing it! Take the compliments with a smile (and perhaps more grace than I manage..) but mostly just make sure you’re putting the work in for the right person: You!

Off for a run!

Leave a comment

Filed under Everyday Misdemeanours, People

Leave a comment