A Little Birdy Told Me: The other side of the Twitter storm

As a journalism student I expect to be the one finding the story. However Monday 9th May was an interesting 24 hours!
I had become the story, as the media wrongly suspected me of being behind the controversial Twitter account leaking information about a spate of celebrity super injunctions including false allegations of an affair between Jemima Khan and Jeremy Clarkson.
The lead was a non-starter. I had no information or any relationship with this account. However this didn’t stop journalists from numerous outlets including the Evening Standard, The Sun and ITV News attempting to hunt me out, with the Daily Mail even turning up at my parent’s home in Hertfordshire.
Hear my side of the Twitter scandal that rocked the UK’s media in May 2011. Understand the investigative process journalists take when putting a story together and find out what happens when a student journalist gets on the wrong side of a story!

Leave a comment

Filed under Journalism

Leave a comment